Armortek Sherman recoil system

For the serious discussion of RC Tank building and general engineering matters.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
saracen
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 9:30 pm

Armortek Sherman recoil system

Post by saracen » Sat Feb 06, 2010 5:13 pm

I've finally managed to get the recoil system on the prototype Sherman working as I would like.

When I initially stripped the tank down, it looked like this:

Image

Now I've cleaned up the parts and replaced the servo, it looks like this:

Image

This is the unit in operation: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQSiuzfaQz0

The servo is a Sanwa ERG-VRX, which is supposed to operate at 0.06 seconds per 60 degree arc but I don't think it's quite that fast. The servo is being controlled by a PICAXE 08 chip, hence the dual speed operation. To get the best from the servo, I'm running the whole circuit from 6 volts but I think it would be safer for the rest of the electronics if I create a split supply.

For those wondering why their Sherman doesn't have a recoil system, I believe this was superseded by the blank firer before the Sherman kit was released.

Personally, I'm torn between leaving it as it was originally designed or changing the length of the arm attached to the servo, to increase the speed of attack.

Adrian.

User avatar
Humpy
Forum Administrator
Posts: 3581
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: SE UK The Garden Of England
Contact:

Re: Armortek Sherman recoil system

Post by Humpy » Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:28 pm

Nice work Adrian, another PICAXE convert :)

Humpy
UKTC President

Bryan The Bastard-JagdPanther 132, Ermintrude-SdKfz251 133, Thors Hammer Stug IV 135, Arwen 1/4 Panther 136, 137!!, Iveco 75R15 In Service!

saracen
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 9:30 pm

Re: Armortek Sherman recoil system

Post by saracen » Sun Feb 07, 2010 1:51 pm

It's hard to argue against it when this took one 8 pin chip, three wires and about 5 lines of program :lol: :lol:

Adrian.

User avatar
jdflute
Posts: 546
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 9:44 am
Location: Sultanate of Oman

Re: Armortek Sherman recoil system

Post by jdflute » Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:08 am

How about posting the picaxe code?
Is the sytem controlled via an rf channel or a simple switch? Looks good and oh so simple
Jd
1/16th T34 85 - Parade Ready
1/12th Abrams - Parade Ready
1/8 Merkava MkIII - Buiding Stage

SOME PEOPLE ARE LIKE SLINKIES.
NOT REALLY GOOD FOR ANYTHING BUT THEY BRING A SMILE TO YOUR FACE WHEN PUSHED DOWN THE STAIRS

saracen
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 9:30 pm

Re: Armortek Sherman recoil system

Post by saracen » Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:08 am

This is the code:

loophere:
servo 2,190
pause 2000
for b0=10 to 190
servo 2,b0
pause 4
next b0
pause 10
goto loophere

This is just a continuous loop, to get the travel and speeds right, and to exercise the parts.

Getting it synchronised to the sound system is another project entirely...

Adrian.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest